Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is Missing in RPGs?

MinisterJay

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
I played my first RPG about 35 years ago. There was something that was just magical about that experience. The game was Dungeons and Dragons. Being a player was exciting, but there was something even more exciting, as that was creating a new campaign as a Dungeon Master.

That is what we are today. We are the modern Dungeon Masters. We make the campaigns. We make the mods. We are the creators of many universes.

I have played a lot of RPGs. As a game developer, I tackle the question, "What is missing in RPGs?" Many of them are almost cookie cutter. We need to go beyond that. Why put this in Theory and Development? It is our job to develop games that gamers want to play. I have seen too many games that have awesome marketing and awesome title screens, but after a few minutes of play, I feel a void. There is something missing...OR many somethings.

What do you find missing in RPGs?

Zebestian

The Artist formerly known as Kaimen
Resource Team
I feel like that, especially in Japanese RPGs, the aspect of actually playing a role is barely present anymore. Old-school JRPGs kinda did that but that was mostly due to the simplicity they had because of technical limitations. If I'm playing an RPG I want to create my own character, my own persona. I love character creation, even if it's just simple and superficial. It gives me the feeling of me actually being a part of the game instead of just sitting in front of a screen playing it.