Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

On RM Horror Games

HitokiriGensai

Towns Guard
Xy$
Hey everyone! These are just some thoughts that came to me while working on my own horror project. I've written this not to educate anyone, because I'm no expert, but rather to open a discussion. What is horror to you? What horror games do you like, and why?

I'm a huge fan of indie horror games, most notably ones made with RPG Maker. The program allows, or arguably, forces, the creator to distill the horror genre to its core mechanics, without the use of cinematics or realistic 3D environments. In my experience, I see there being three main mechanics in these types of games: atmosphere, puzzles, and of course, the monster(s). With these alone, you can have a horror game, and a lot of indie games have hinged on just these - Slender, SCP Containment Breach among them (first ones that come to mind). I'd almost lump Amnesia and FNAF in as well, but... there's a lot more going on in those. In games like these, it's just you, the faceless player, collecting items, solving puzzles, and avoiding the big bad. These games get a lot of attention, because they offer jumpy, terrifying experiences, and are super quick. They're not multi-chapter, exploration- and dialogue-heavy games like the triple-A horror titles.