Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

M.U.G.E.N.-based Battle System

vico

Villager
Xy$
M.U.G.E.N.-based Battle System

Hi everyone! I hope you're having a very nice 2017 start!

I came here to request something "peculiar" for the RPG genre, something that was born out of my head after hours of playing.

Well, let's start...

Introduction

There is a lot of fans of RPGs and Fighting Games. What about unite both?

This is my idea. A blend of both systems. It was born after I started playing MUGEN a lot, and I was thinking about how tedious sometimes the battles of some RPGs could be (mainly the ones like Final Fantasy and Chrono Trigger, or strategy).

So I said: Why not use a MUGEN (or the more know: Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat)-like battle? It's more dynamic and depending of the game story it could work.

Well, enough of history. Now i will detail what the hell is M.U.G.E.N.

*Please note i'm not requesting a straight port of MUGEN engine for RMMV. Only the concepts of the gameplay, which are similar in all fighting games. Besides that, MUGEN is closed source and i doubt Elecbyte will ever release the source code.*

What is M.U.G.E.N.?

According to Wikipedia:

M.U.G.E.N (also known simply as MUGEN) is a freeware 2D fighting game engine designed by Elecbyte. Content is created by the community, and thousands of fighters, both original and from popular fiction, have been created. It is written in C and originally used the Allegro library. The latest versions of the engine now use the SDL library.
Now some videos showing exacly how MUGEN (and any game of this kind) works:

(the vanilla character kung fu man)

A mod for MUGEN adding Mario and related characters. Skip to 0:38