Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Essy's Intelligent AI Demo {Pre-Development}

Essy

Towns Guard
Xy$
So this post wont be so formal as it's less of a product to sell as a concept. For my AI class I had to decide on an independent project based on my relevant domain.

As a game designer I figured I should focus on a game environment. So using RPG Maker and Pearl ABS I will be developing intelligent dueling AIs.

The project will have two options-
1. Play against the AI itself. For simplicity the AI and yourself will have the same exact moveset/statistics.
2. Have the AI take over your character to fight itself.

The goal is to create a very strong and robust AI. As a result it may end up being difficult for human players to defeat. But as my project reaches those stages I hope rpgmakermv.co doesn't mind testing it out and providing feedback.

I will probably use these experiences in my other project and in the future implement such AI for use in MV.

That's all for the moment, this is not an april fools thread. : )

EDIT:
https://www.mediafire.com/?lm72yg2jly9y4c4
This is what I'll have done for my presentation at Uni. At the very least this gave me quite an insight in AI design in platforms like RPG Maker as well as just how serious language performance constraints are.
I picked my favorite configuration to show off but its unencrypted so you can try out the other configurations if you want.
You'll notice that they melee swing a lot and don't invest a lot of time in getting up closer.

The reason for this is the search depth. It's unrealistic for me to have a search depth greater than 2-ply in this real time environment. If this were python I could probably get to 3-ply or 6-ply in c++(possibly 8-ply with optimizations)