Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The power of RPG Maker i.m.o.

samorious

Towns Guard
When I first found out about RPG Maker I was exited. Finally an engine wich doesn't require that much coding.

I started trying out new ideas, but after a while I realized that I was somewhat limited in the graphic capabilities (Since I am a designer its the first thing I stumbled upon).

Thats when I started looking for other engines. I tried to work with Unity for a couple of weeks but it turned out to be a big disaster.

I stopped working on my project for about a month and then decided to give RMMV a second chance. That's when I learned myself scripting events etc.

And that is where the power of RMMV lies in my opinion. With relatively easy scripting you can create a varied gameplay with tons of different system and mechanics. It feels like you have got some small sticks you can play with, not hard to learn but the possibilities are almost endless. I think that as an Indie Game Dev who might not be that good with scripting and programming the RPG Maker software is a great way to create your game. It doesn't take that long to master and it is really simple in its use.

I am very glad and excited I discovered RPG Maker. While still not beeing a programmer I have the freedom to add anything to my projects that I think is important without scripting for weeks(if my calculations are wrong tell me please)

So yeah, this may not be the most informative thread ever. I just wanted to share my thoughts about RMMV. Please leave yours also. I am very curious :-)

Have a great day,
samorious

MinisterJay

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator