Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RMMV combat system

Ector

Villager
Xy$
Hi everybody! I'm completely new to RMMV, but I've bought enough content for thousands of different games :) I've just finished reading "Beginning Rpg Maker MV" by Darrin Perez, but still didn't get answers for my primary question: how flexible is the combat system? Can I implement a completely new combat system without classes and levels? Can I change the stats?
AFAIK (and I have almost no experience), RMMV could be nearly ideal to make a game in Traveller universe, as that system is more about travels and less about numbers, but I don't know how to change the combat system. Ironically, I'm a programmer with some JavaScript experience, I just don't know what to do.

LTN Games

Master Mind
Resource Team
Xy$
It really all depends on what type of battle system you're looking to achieve. If you're a programmer you should be able to create your own system no problem. You can start from scratch and override the normal Battle scene with your own battle scene and mechanics. Maybe a bit more info on what kind of battle system you want to create would help me point you in the correct direction.

Ector

Villager
Xy$
You can start from scratch and override the normal Battle scene with your own battle scene and mechanics. Maybe a bit more info on what kind of battle system you want to create would help me point you in the correct direction.
Traveller has different stats and no character progression by levels. I'm also very interested in creating a CCG combat mechanics, as I'm a CCG expert. I've downloaded the JavaScript sources, but had no time to explore them yet. Are there any guides, comments or examples of changing the battle system?
Thanks a lot in advance!