Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Regular Expressions (in JavaScript)

JibstaMan

Towns Guard
Xy$
Basics
Regular Expressions
, aka regex and RegExp, are quite tough. I'm not an expert on the topic, but I have used regular expression for over a year now and I guess I can write something useful about them.

In this tutorial, I've started with the "basics". If things go well, I might expand the tutorials with two additions:

Programming Regular Expression: once you can write regular expressions, what are the different ways they can be used within JavaScript?
Regular Expression Advanced: goes from theory to more practical examples and hopefully will make you able to figure things out by yourself.

If the tutorial goes to fast on certain topics, try to follow along until the first example. There are many things going on in a single regular expression, so I start with quite a bit of theory before giving a real example. Let me know if more examples would be good.

Why regular expressions?
Regular expressions are able to match parts within a larger body of text (called a string). You can either extract those matches, remove those matches or simple test whether a match is present. For example, plugin writers use regular expressions to extract part of the object notes that are relevant to their plugin.

What are regular expressions?
Well, besides gibberish? They are a sequence of characters which specify what to match within the string. You could see it as a requirements specification. The spec is used to find matches. Anything that deviates from the spec, will not match and is ignored.

JavaScript:
/(s.*?characters).*?specify (.+)/i;