Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Javascript 201

Do you want me to continue this?

• Total voters

eivl

Local Hero
Xy$
So what is the deal with this JavaScript i hear people talking about.. Well.. since i am a terrible writer i will with the help of the internet compose my thoughts, not in my own words but in my own way.

I will need to reserve a few posts so i can explain more as i go.. hope that is ok.

If you hang around the JavaScript world long enough you will find standard ways of doing Object Oriented Programming. It looks like this.
JavaScript:
function MyClass() {
}

MyClass.prototype.method = function() {
}
And this is how you would do inheritance
JavaScript:
function MySubClass() {
    MyClass.call(this);
}
MySubClass.prototype = Object.create(MyClass.prototype);
MySubClass.prototype.constructor = MySubClass;

MySubClass.prototype.method = function() {
    MyClass.prototype.method.call(this);
}
So why this? why this mess? and how does it work?

Object Fundamentals
You have a few JavaScript types.

Primitive Types
Code:
Undefined: undefined
Null: null
Boolean: true
String: "foo"
Number: 3.14159
Object: { bar: "baz" }
Special Objects
Code:
Function: function qwe() {...}
Array: [ "answer", 42]
RegExp: /piyo/
functions, arrays and regexp are in fact objects.

What are objects?

Object are a set of name / value pairs or key/value pairs

The name can be anything as long as it is a string and each string can be assosiated with any value; Those value can be of any type, meaning any Primitive types or any object type.

Why so special?
Main difference is that Primitives are passed as value, while objects are passed as reference.
Lets look at an example of this.

JavaScript:
var number1, number2;

number1 =  3.14159;