Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help with creating plugin commands

Run

Towns Guard
Xy$
So I'm fairly new to scripting, and I just started on a second plugin when I noticed that it collided with my first plugin.
It seems that I have implemented plugin commands incorrectly and caused them to call each other, which causes the stack size to be exceeded.
Here's the code I used for creating the command. It's the same for both plugins, except with a different string for the command.
var aliasPluginCommand = Game_Interpreter.prototype.pluginCommand;

Game_Interpreter.prototype.pluginCommand = function(command, args){

aliasPluginCommand.call(this,command, args);
if(command == "some_command"){
console.log("performing command");
}
}

I understand that the likely problem is aliasPluginCommand.call(this,command, args); from plugin1 is calling the pluginCommand function for plugin2, which is in turn calling it in plugin1 again. Or something at least similar to that.
I have never used aliasing before so I'm unsure if I understand it completely.

Any assistance on a better way to add the commands to the plugins would be appreciated.

LTN Games

Master Mind
Resource Team
Xy$
What's the other plugin look like? It should not conflict unless you use the same name for the alias. Change the alias name and things should be good to go. I would also recommend using dev namespace for your alias variables instead. So example
Code:
LTN.scriptinitials_oldclass_oldfunction = oldclass.prototype.oldfunction;

Run

Towns Guard
Xy$
Thank you, changing the alias name fixed it, I was unaware that they couldn't share the same name.
Onward goes the scripting!

LTN Games

Master Mind
Resource Team
Xy$