Indie Dev

Hello Guest!. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, sell your games, upload content, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FFVIII Draw System & Summons

Lark Monster

Towns Guard
Xy$
I really have no idea if this is in the right place or not...sorry in advance if it's not. :(

Right now I am mostly tinkering around and learning things (I just got RPG Maker MV about a week ago...), and I have a few ideas for what I want to do but almost no idea how to accomplish it. I have looked around at plugins and things like that, but right now it's pretty overwhelming and I've probably missed things that I could have used (mostly because I'm still learning what everything is & does).

Anyhow, here are things I am very interested in implementing but am pretty clueless how to do it. If anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them, I like to learn how to do new things but just need a bit of direction on how to start.

Final Fantasy VIII 'Draw' system: (Like this http://finalfantasy.wikia.com/wiki/Draw_(Final_Fantasy_VIII))

I think I can make a skill for this, or two? And have one be useable in battle, and the other useable in other areas to be used with specific events. I am still pretty new to this all so I am just guessing from what I have seen & figured out through experiments. I'm unsure of how to actually do the learning part, that seems way beyond me (to be honest this all does but I sort of have a grasp on some of it).
  • Be able to sometimes 'draw' from the enemy.
  • Be able to sometimes 'draw' from things you encounter in the world (like 'fire' from a campfire or something).
  • Non-magic users are able to use 'draw' if they have equipment with the proper skill (Draw). They can't use it, but it goes into the party inventory like a regular item would. (Maybe. Still debating).